fr French
Dar Moulay Ali

Dar Moulay Ali

Average Reviews

Description

Marrakech is undoubtedly a city of history and culture. As proof, the opening of a new meeting space from the end of May 2017: Dar Moulay Ali - House of France in Marrakech.

Situated in the shade of the Koutoubia, close to the souks of Marrakech and the famous Jemaa El Fna square, Dar Moulay Ali is a historic palace in the heart of the red city. A XNUMXth century building which has seen famous figures from Marrakech pass through its walls.

First the home of Prince Moulay Ali, the house was then bought by France, which made it the residence of its generals, before becoming its consular seat. Today Dar Moulay Ali Palace houses the residence of the French Consul, since the transfer of the Consulate offices to Guéliz in 2007.

Following its restoration, Dar Moulay Ali rediscovers all its harmony and splendor, and opens part of its building to the public as of May 23, 2017. The premises of the former Consulate become a new cultural space in Marrakech : "Dar Moulay Ali - House of France in Marrakech".

This place that recalls the memory of the Palace and the consular residence, will welcome exhibitions and meetings throughout the year, the tea room and the travel shop will offer a space of conviviality perfect for travelers and the curious.

Dar Moulay Ali - House of France in Marrakech, was officially inaugurated on Monday May 22, 2017, in the presence of the French Consul in Marrakech, Mr. Eric Gérard, the Director of the French Institute in Marrakech, Mr. Christophe Pomez, and His Excellency the Ambassador of France to Morocco, Mr. Jean-François Girault. By their side, many official Moroccan authorities as well as the Professor Hamid Triki and Richard Edwards, co-authors of the book "Dar Moulay Ali, journey to the heart of memory".

From February 21 to 12 May 2018, Dar Moulay Ali - Maison de la France in Marrakech will welcome its 3rd exhibition. C'est "Riad" by Walid Marfouk which is in the spotlight. Starting from the principle that the Western media only show a very partial reality of the Orient, the artist develops through his works a pictorial language, a visual syntax, which allowssee a fragment of Morocco as he sees it. He tries tobring diversity to a western model centered on too often anonymous images of pain and misery.

From February 21 to April 28, 2018, Dar Moulay Ali - Maison de la France in Marrakech also hosts a retrospective of the works of photographer Daoud Aoulad-Syad. If the event takes place in 3 essential places in Marrakech, we discover "Morocco in color", Tuesday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 18 p.m., with his completely new vintage prints in cibachrome.

Then, from May 3 to July 28, 2018, Dar Moulay Ali will present his 4th exhibition "A fragile poetry - Camille Lepage & Leila Alaoui". The two photographers, Camille Lepage and Leila Alaoui, had decided to testify to the harshness of the world through photography. A commitment that cost them their lives. Camille Lepage died in 2014 while reporting on diamond mining in the Central African Republic; Leila Alaoui in 2016 in Burkina Faso when she produced a series of images for Amnesty International.

The two young women left behind a work through often difficult photographs because they bear witness to tragedies. But in the midst of this chaos, they knew how to grasp brief moments of delicacy and fragile moments of poetry. Dar Moulay Ali pays tribute to them until July 28, 2018. An opening will take place on 03/05 at 19 p.m.

Public rate 40 DH Adult
Free Accompanied children under 12

Categories

Statistic

Views
0 Rating
0 Favorite
0 Share

Claim Listing

Is this your business?

Claim listing is the best way to manage and protect your business.

fr French
Dar Moulay Ali

Dar Moulay Ali

Average Reviews

Description

Marrakech est incontestablement une ville d’histoire et de culture. Pour preuve l’ouverture d’un nouveau espace de rencontres dès fin mai 2017 : Dar Moulay Ali – Maison de la France à Marrakech.

Situé à l’ombre de la Koutoubia, à deux pas des souks de Marrakech et de la célèbre place Jemaa El Fna, Dar Moulay Ali est un palais historique au cœur de la ville rouge. Une bâtisse du XIXe siècle qui a vu passer entre ses murs des figures illustres de Marrakech. 

Tout d’abord maison du Prince Moulay Ali, la demeure est ensuite rachetée par la France qui en fait la résidence de ses généraux, avant de devenir son siège consulaire. Aujourd’hui le palais Dar Moulay Ali abrite la résidence du Consul de France, depuis le transfert des bureaux du Consulat à Guéliz en 2007.

Suite à sa restauration, Dar Moulay Ali retrouve toute son harmonie et sa splendeur, et ouvre une partie de sa bâtisse au public dès le 23 mai 2017. Les locaux de l’ancien Consulat deviennent un nouvel espace culture à Marrakech : « Dar Moulay Ali – Maison de la France à Marrakech ».

Ce lieu qui raconte la mémoire du Palais et de la résidence consulaire, accueillera des expositions et rencontres tout au long de l’annéele salon de thé et la boutique du voyage offriront un espace de convivialité parfait pour les voyageurs et les curieux.

Dar Moulay Ali – Maison de la France à Marrakech, a été officiellement inauguré le lundi 22 mai 2017, en présence du Consul de France à Marrakech, M. Eric Gérard, le Directeur de l’Institut Français de Marrakech, M. Christophe Pomez, et son Excellence l’Ambassadeur de France au Maroc, M. Jean-François Girault. A leurs côtés, de nombreuses autorités officielles du Maroc ainsi que le Professeur Hamid Triki et Richard Edwards, co-auteurs de l’ouvrage « Dar Moulay Ali, voyage au cœur de la mémoire ».

Du 21 février au 12 mai 2018, Dar Moulay Ali – Maison de la France à Marrakech accueillera sa 3e exposition. C’est « Riad » de Walid Marfouk qui est à l’honneur. Partant du principe que les médias occidentaux ne montrent de l’Orient qu’une réalité très partielle, l’artiste développe à travers ses œuvres un langage pictural, une syntaxe visuelle, qui permet d’apercevoir un fragment du Maroc tel qu’il le perçoit. Il essaie d’apporter de la diversité à un modèle occidental centré sur des images trop souvent anonymes de douleurs et de misère. 

A partir du 21 février et jusqu’au 28 avril 2018, Dar Moulay Ali – Maison de la France à Marrakech accueille également une rétrospective des œuvres du photographe Daoud Aoulad-Syad. Si l’événement s’installe dans 3 lieux incontournables de Marrakech, on découvre « Le Maroc en couleurs », du mardi au samedi de 10h à 18h, avec ses tirages vintage en cibachrome complètement inédits.

Ensuite, du 3 mai au 28 juillet 2018, Dar Moulay Ali présentera sa 4e exposition « Une fragile poésie – Camille Lepage & Leila Alaoui ». Les deux photographes, Camille Lepage et Leila Alaoui, avaient décidé de témoigner de la dureté du monde à travers la photographie. Un engagement qui leur a coûté la vie. Camille Lepage est décédée en 2014 alors qu’elle réalisait un reportage sur l’exploitation diamantaire en République centrafricaine ; Leila Alaoui en 2016 au Burkina Faso alors qu’elle réalisait une série d’images pour Amnesty International.

Les deux jeunes femmes ont laissé derrière elles une œuvre à travers des photographies souvent difficiles parce qu’elles témoignent de tragédies. Mais au milieu de ce chaos, elles ont su saisir de brefs instants de délicatesse et des moments fragiles de poésie. Dar Moulay Ali leur rend hommage jusqu’au 28 juillet 2018. Un vernissage aura lieu le 03/05 à 19h.

Tarif public 40 DH Adulte
Gratuit Enfants accompagnés de moins de 12 ans

Statistic

138 Views
0 Rating
0 Favorite
0 Share

Claim Listing

Is this your business?

Claim listing is the best way to manage and protect your business.